Spume and advice needed

There are two reasons for making this post. Firstly to share a trip out with my companion so he can see and have a small reminder of it, and second to ask advice about a good camera for video making. I know this video is dreadful quality wise in all sorts of ways so it’s just to give an impression, but it finally brought my frustrations about having a decent camera I can make videos with to a head . I may not be able to get it immediately but I know now it’s something I want and need. The two cameras I have are basically to take photos with an additional facility to shoot videos, so the emphasis on photos means what I can and can’t do with them is very limited when it comes to videos. I’d really value some advice on what sort of camera would be a good idea purely for videos. I want a quality one but not something massive I’d have trouble lugging about because I like to be spontaneous and anyway it wouldn’t suit me. I don’t want to spend an absolute fortune but I do what something which will give me the quality I want. Any ideas?

2 thoughts on “Spume and advice needed

  1. It seems to me that what you could use now is an actual camcorder; the one “class” of device which, from the ground up, places emphasis on motion picture capture ahead of any other function or feature. (Suffice it to say, stay away from those flat, rectangular cameras like the Flip and suchlike.) I would strongly recommend looking into Canon’s line of HD camcorders. You can get one for as little as $220 (USD.) They have excellent optics, sensor technology, and great image stabilization. Most of them are small enough to shove in a jacket pocket and carry around but, simultaneously, they have enough weight to them to where they give you a very stable shot compared to most of the “toy” video cameras. (And not just because of their size-to-weight ratio, but also because of how they are meant to be held. There are also techniques to further stabilize your shot such as using your free hand to grasp the wrist of your filming hand.) Just to give you a starting point, look at the Canon VIXIA HF R11, or the HF M40. There are plenty of test videos on YouTube for either model.

Leave a Reply

