When the lights go out

It’s quite a curious time for me anyway, for reasons I’m not going to go into. However, I’ve been acutely aware of how very attached and probably addicted most of us are to screens of one sort or another. Whether interactive or no they seem to provide a background to our lives, a security, an alleviation of boredom or of being alone, even if we aren’t, and even if they create much of that boredom by allowing us to imagine we’re occupied and doing something useful. So when I was plunged into darkness yesterday due to a powercut it reminded me again of that fact. I had a roaring fire and several different forms of light which weren’t entirely satisfactory in terms what we’re used to at night, but enabled me to function in a reasonably normal way. I still had the means to cook, and obviously with the fire, to keep warm, so in many ways my life for those few hours mimicked that of the people who had lived here over the past centuries. What to do? Not bright enough to read without ending up with a real headache. I cooked and ate, then decided to do a drawing. I have absolutely no idea why this subject matter came to mind. A bubble blowing dragon isn’t normally something I’d imagine or want to depict. Perhaps it was a return to more innocent times, or that I’m reminded of the powerful connections and imagery motherhood brings right now, but the dark brought me this:

Then the lights came on again and I had my screens, filled with people bemoaning the fact they existed and insisting ife was nothing but horror and suffering. I was tempted to turn those damn screens off again. I certainly need to be more selective in what allow them to stream into my brain.

8 thoughts on “When the lights go out

  1. I can’t quite put my finger on the reason for why this is, but the background just doesn’t mesh with the rest of the picture. Maybe it’s the lack of cast shadows, preventing the observer from placing the dragon at a particular depth within the frame… But I REALLY do like the background. To me, it almost looks like an under-exposed / cropped photograph of a wall with a sepia filter.

    • He’s in the dark. πŸ˜‰ Actually I often like to place images against a non background (since the medium I usually work on is black, I know it doesn’t look quite black, that’s due to the photo not the drawing itself). It has the effect of causing whatever is placed upon it to stand out in isolation, almost as if it’s floating. It draws the eye, connects with the unconscious, looks unfamiliar, causes the brain to trip slightly.

  2. ‘Twould make a Christmas card πŸ˜‰ Another thought; David Icke would have a field day with the image….you haven’t selected him out, have you? Okay, so have I πŸ™‚

    • lol Ed. I’m afraid David Icke was ruled out long ago as far as I’m concerned, the moment after I heard a sports presenter had decided there was a danger from grey aliens. His paranoid delusions he can keep and anyway humans are far more dangerous. Don’t tell him about this picture, he might write a book on bubble blowing dragons. Actually maybe you should…..:P

Leave a Reply

