Nothing to see here

For a while now I’ve found the internet increasingly tedious. But, in that much used phrase (about other things, anyway) if you’re bored of the internet, you’re bored of life. After all, isn’t all life here? Well no, not really.

I fully accept that what I’m looking at is an incredibly small corner, and that it may say more about me than it does the internet itself, that it’s how you use a tool that matters. I’ve been around a long time, and travelled through many a medium and group. It was new for ages because it was so quickly evolving, and the options and opportunities seemed vast, were vast.

But it’s not just me. It seems as if a few things are happening. One is that in an almost entirely business model, human interaction is the product not the motivation. Selling us the ‘freedom’ to do what we used to do anyway, means that the material becomes increasingly byte sized, and ever more trivial.

Then there’s overkill. Over stimulation and excess of options which oddly ends up with everything competing for your attention, so that attention becomes shorter than that of a gnat. And the less attention you have the more you find yourself skating over the trivia and sliding right off the edge because it’s all geared to attracting you, not intriguing you.

Human nature plays a part too. The desire for more and more attention, which causes a decreasing quality of output. The false raising up of the ‘celebrity’ and the intertwining of expression and income source. Our human frailty and tendencies to be drawn to conflict and of feeling in the right because someone else seems to be in the wrong. A focus on either what is wrong with everything, and a failure to appreciate real value; or a focus on all that is wonderful and an avoidance of difficulty.

We have a tsunami of information, images, chatter, argumentation, homilies, and more, and we are washed away.

I have no wish to tell anyone else what to do, that’s not the purpose of this. I have a sense that I’m at the beginning of a new chapter of some sort. Not online, in life, whatever that may mean. I’ve always found that when I reach a place thrumming with nothingness, I need to accept and embrace that. And when I do, the new chapter can begin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

12 thoughts on “Nothing to see here

  1. Completely swamped by self-appointed saviours who really need me! Now they are cross-selling and me gets multiple emails for the same week-long free seminars and also the paralells and upcomings, which are sooo what I need that I really should buy the series of multi-saviour interviews to watch again and again…..ad….mired, ad infinitum.
    ( I do like David Avocado Wolfe, though 😉

    Ride into and onto the tsunami, is my intent, with all the momentum I can muster, up and over.

    We can only ‘save’ ourselves and that’s ‘from’ ourselves. Amen 😉

    • It’s funny how the self appointed messiahs need us, isn’t it? You’d think it would be the other way round. And if you get yourself entangled in consumerist spirituality it will indeed become an endless round of ‘please buy me’, again and again.

      “We can only ‘save’ ourselves and that’s ‘from’ ourselves. Amen”

      🙂

  2. Hi Loreleila,

    Funny old thing, the Internet. Maybe we’ve already had the best of it. I was just reading this (link below) today about fighting back against the online plutocrats. Let’s hope we can save a few little spaces here and there. At least.

    http://www.shareable.net/blog/how-platform-coops-can-beat-death-stars-like-uber-to-create-a-real-sharing-economy

    My Lupakalia account I find now I can sign in and use it to ‘like’ videos, subscribe to other Youtubers and so on (I’m now subscribed to nearly a thousand!) but, without going G+ cannot comment at all.

    Still, it leaves more time for ‘real’ life. After all, all I really want from the internet is to enhance my real, everyday life, not to live the whole thing online thank-you.

    Best wishes to you, keep enjoying real life …

    • How odd. G+ and YouTube are separating, so I assumed the comments would revert to YouTube. Perhaps they still will.

      ” Maybe we’ve already had the best of it.”

      I suspect that’s the case.

      “After all, all I really want from the internet is to enhance my real, everyday life, not to live the whole thing online thank-you.”

      Well said.

      Best wishes to you too. Lovely to hear from you.

  3. Seeing the first comment from Ed now, looked up Mr Avocado Wolfe to find the following topped the list “How is it that I’ve never heard of David Avocado Wolfe before?” Indeed.

    Some kind of Rock Star it appears. Groan.

    That’s all we need, more Bonos and Geldofs. Any Slebs, then I’m delighted to know nothing about them. There’s great fun to be had by never having heard of, and having no interest whatever in the latest Idol Idiot, whatever the field. Be free of these Shibboleths.

    • Ok, so I looked this moron up after your comment. Here is one of his pearls of wisdom:

      “Chugging a lot of water during your meal dilutes your blood”

      Says it all really. I quite agree with you.

      • You couldn’t possibly know the person in that short time. He says many things with a twinkle in his eye…. I’m a moron too!

      • I can see that most of what he says is nonsense. But it’s not for me to tell you who to like and not like, and of course, that is on a cursory glance. I will say though, that imo, the only messiah is the messiah who can help you see you are your own messiah. The claimed wise man, guru, messiah, who is income driven can never be one, as I see it. But then who am I?

      • Somebody said to me the other day that Richard Dawkins was his his hero (strange but true) to which the only response is “why can’t you be your own hero?”

        Funnily enough in the versions of Mullah Nasruddin that I’ve read, ie Idries Shah, Nasruddin is forever driving would-be chelas away, as you will similarly see in many Zen tales.

        Life runs on dynamic paradox, and paradoxically, it is likely that those individuals who may have most to teach are the ones who shun publicity and disciples.

        The corollary of this, it appears to me, is that those attended by fanfare of publicity and the panoply of many followers are in truth the least interesting.

      • Nevertheless, even I who couldn’t agree with you more, with this post, enjoy David Wolfe and think he handles it well. He’s a showman, yes enjoying his chosen mission…which is bodily sustenance! Have an avocado 🙂 I have to take his word for that, as my tongue seems to disagree 🙂

  4. I love Mullah Nasruddin. It’s like Zen with humour.

    “those individuals who may have most to teach are the ones who shun publicity and disciples”

    That has been my experience. Such people need to be sought out, or to land in your life and for you to turn and look, and listen, without their desire or pressure. They know you’ll catch the breeze if needs be. I’ve felt this to the degree that I tend to automatically dismiss the attention seeker. Inevitably there’ll be the odd exception, but s/he who holds themselves up as some sort of saviour is generally in more need of saving than those they use to shore their egos up with.

Leave a Reply

